Race for the Cure – Houston 2009

race for the cure

This year I am participating in the Susan G Komen Race for the Cure fund-raiser on Saturday, October 3 in Houston. This is the first time I have participated at this level, so I am really looking forward to the experience.

It is scary to think that one in eight women will be stricken with breast cancer in her lifetime. I have always donated to this cause, and this year I thought I would join the fight against breast cancer by raising money myself.

SGK Houston 2009

I’ve always been enamored by the event – all the thousands of women and men gathered together for one cause, the colorful shirts, logos, the camaraderie of the teams and companies, and all the sponsors – big and little. So many people come out to show their support, and it’s heartwarming to see the women wearing their “cancer survivor” labels. So when one of my clients sent me an email about joining her company’s team, I suddenly found myself clicking the link and signing up! It’s very exciting to be a part of this event. In fact, what prompted me to write this post today was getting my race packet in the mail today!

If you would like to join the fight by registering as part of our team or by supporting our efforts with a pledge contribution, please click here to visit my personal webpage. Money raised through the Race will fund vital education, screening and treatment programs for underserved women in our own community and support the national search for a cure. We need your support! Every step counts!

Update: here are some pictures from the walk. We had a great time, got some free stuff, got some exercise, and best of all raised some cash for the cause!

There were alot of really creative t-shirts and attire!

Marla and Ilona, my best friend and co-worker. Marla flew in from Houma to be a part of this. Here we are at the start of the 5K walk!

We can’t believe how many people there are!

How cute are they?

People volunteered to cheer everyone on throughout the walk. Some had on costumes, played music, danced for us, handed out water, etc. We walked past some homes that were decorated too.

Much to my and Marla’s delight there were dogs everywhere; many of them dressed up by their owners. We just loved this one in particular!

More cheerleaders atop Allen Parkway

Yay! We did it!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. fpunzalan
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 02:32:36

    Hi!!!
    Please post this to your site:

    People who want to raise funds this coming Susan G Komen 3-DayRace For The Cure, you can buy bulk Pink Merchandise for low prices at this site:

    http://www.fundraisingforacause.com.

    If you’re also planning to help and raise fund you may also visit the site.

    Thank you! May we help many people through this. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment